One Week In…

Uncategorized

April is off to a great start. The past two days have been so full of happiness! In just one week I feel exponentially better than I did going in to my “soul search.” I’m finding that Erwin’s book is really helping me find the energy to dig deep in to what my career is going to be. I’ve had several conversations with numerous people about a few options or “directions.” I really do feel like something is going to come to fruition in my brain soon. For now, I’ll keep plugging away and focusing on myself so that if an opportunity does arise, I’ll be ready to take it.

Speaking of!! Each week, on Wednesday mornings, I will be weighing in/checking measurements with my trainer Emily (by the way, if there’s an Equinox fairy out there that wants to gift me some more sessions…………I would happily take them :P). Yesterday, I checked in. Now… I don’t see much difference in my pictures other than the first one I had a spray tan. Haha, but I feel different and my measurements decreased! Also, I’m going to try to follow the same proceedure each time I post updates to track progress quickly.

Image

Measurements in Inches
Bust: 37 (-1)
True Waist: 29 (-2)
Low Waist: 34 (-1)
Hips: 41.5 (-.5)
Thigh: 23.5 (-1.5)

Image

Height: 5’6
Weight: 153.7 (increased)
BFP: 32.2% (-.7)

Image

I really should have gotten a spray tan!

In total this week I lost 6 inches! I’m really proud of that. I have upheld my goal of six days in the gym/being phsyically active and some days, like today, multiple activities. On Monday, my friend Brittney and I went up to Runyon Canyon and made the loop. I think that may be where the “magic” in LA is to me. It was so beautiful and serene. It’s also one hell of a workout…with a view of the Hollywood sign. The thing I do love about being out here is that the options for outdoor activities are virtually endless. With that, and perfect weather, it’s easy to take in the beauty of California on a regular basis. The beach is a 20 minute drive! Yesterday, I did the Canyon alone with my iPod and my thoughts. It was some much needed time to spend in my own head and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

 

The view from Runyon!

Oh, hey, LA.

 

Brittney and I at the top of Runyon!

Brittney and I at the top of Runyon!

After my hike, I came back and got ready to go meet my friend (and Miss Iowa), Mariah for a bite before we headed to Mosaic for church. I love Midweek! The service is a bit longer and a little more in-depth to Sunday’s discussion. Last night was about the story of Isaiah. Much of the conversation was about the way that so many characters in the Bible feel completely compelled to act on a “vision.”  The discussion we had spanned from Isaiah Chapter 6…alllll the way to Isaiah 63. Erwin said so many things that touched me last night, but because I was so deep in thought, I forgot to write the actual passages down. One I was really moved by, though, I caught:

This is what the Lord says—
    he who made a way through the sea,
    a path through the mighty waters,
17 who drew out the chariots and horses,
    the army and reinforcements together,
and they lay there, never to rise again,
    extinguished, snuffed out like a wick:
18 Forget the former things;
    do not dwell on the past.

Isaiah 43:16-19

So many of us are in fear of our future because of the experiences in our past. How often do we refuse to attempt again something because we failed before? The sermon went on and on about all of us who are living in our own bitterness. I must admit that I certainly am guilty of that. The way that my tenure in the MAO ended left me feeling quite bitter. I was hurt by the actions of others. I was hurt by people who I thought were on “my side.” And I was hurt by people who sat idly by and did nothing to right wrongs. All of that combined with an already emotional experience left me feeing really angry. But, I cannot dwell in the things I cannot change. I can, however, consider that experience a life-lesson and move on. Erwin said “you cannot be an instrument to creating a better future if you have lost your sould in the past.” The bottom line is those wrongs that I felt weren’t made right and likely will never be. It’s time to let it go. I have much to look forward to in the future that I am creating.

Speaking of the future that I am creating, I’m so excited to be heading to NYC next wekeend to attend the Hosting Workshop at The Actors Connection. Tony Nation at The Actors Connection has been an incredible support to the Miss NY Organization and i’m stoked to be able to finally use my sponsorship with them to further my career. I’ve been brainstorming for that weekend I am excited to see what happens. In addition, Claire and I have a call tomorrow to discuss the future of my new website and that thrills me. I’m looking forward to getting that off the ground and having  a place where I can really brand myself online. Yay!

Now- I finally decided that these darn French lessons have to be accompanied by this great App called Dualingo because it actually uses English in conjuction with French. Here’s lesson 1!

The Boy/ A Boy: le garçon, un garçon

The Girl/ A Girl: la fille, une fille

The Woman/A Woman: la femme, une femme

The Man/A Man: l’homme, un home

**In French, “le” and “la” become “l” when the next word begins with a vowel (ex: “l’enfant”) or a silent “h” (ex: “l’homme”).

**All nouns are either masculine or feminine. The articles “le” and “un” are used with masculine nouns, “la” and “une” are used with feminine nouns.

“ I am a woman”: Je suis (swee) une femme

“I am a girl”: Je suis une fille

Rich: Riche

“The woman is rich:” la femme est riche

Apple: Pomme (feminine)

“The Apple is red”: la pomme est rouge

“Tu” is the informal “you.”

You are a girl: “tu es une fille”

Did you get all of that? YAY! Take me to Paris now… I’m ready!!! Haha juuuuust kidding. But, honestly, how fun! I can’t wait to be able to fully communicate in another language. If only we were like every other industrialized country in that aspect. #merica

The next Chapter in The Artisan Soul is “Image: Manifestation of Imagination” and I’m actually going to take some time to read that right now. I’ve been go, go, go-ing the past couple of days and the down-time I did have this afternoon I chose to spend napping. 😀 Last night at Mosaic I finally had the chance to speak to Erwin and I kind of fan-girled. I told him about my blog and then I cried… and cried. Oh, hello, hormones. Womp womp- how embarassing! I’m just excited about my new- found faith and desire for God and spirituality in general. It feels so good to look to Him and give thanks for the incredible, miraculous, beautiful things that He created in this world and around me. Gratitude has always been my favorite of all emotions that I feel, so naturally I am grateful that as these days pass on I am finally feeling it in more frequency.

What are you grateful for?

 

 

 

 

 

Oh. P.S. Check out my new digs from @vaydagirlheadbands!

3 thoughts on “One Week In…

  1. Keep it up and keep going! One day at a time. You are making progress and that’s important physically, emotionally AND spiritually!

  2. Mallory,
    Wow…so much wisdom in such a young soul!
    Thank you for ALWAYS and in ALL ways being an inspiration to everyone who is fortunate to cross paths with you.
    I LOVE that passage in Isaiah and actually my favorite verse is the next one: 19, ‘Look and see that I am creating something new! I will make a road in the wilderness and a river in the desert’.
    What hope contained in that verse, that this drought season of our lives…whatever the drought may be…will not last for long!

    And, DUOLINGO is the best! I had 5 years of French in high school and college and I swear, this FREE little app is better than all those classes!

    You pretty much rock, Mallory! I’m blessed to know you!
    Emmy

Leave a Reply

